Painting from Another World - Comment on Mr. Lei Liang's Oil Painting on Rice Paper
Li Yuan

It is said that the world our naked eyes see is only a surface plane that the nature presents. Then, does there exist another plane in the nature that our naked eyes are not aware of? Only when I came to Mr. Lei Liang's studio (he lives next door to me) does this world emerge suddenly in front of me, a world that consists only in religious theology and philosophical discussion since thousands of years. I was struck with awe of the world unfolded here on these paintings exhibited one after another. The painting has apparently a bewitchment to drag my thinking and to curdle my earthly aesthesia, leading me to step into a dim and far-reaching world...

This is an ancient and desolate world, full of mysteries: Lengthy and broad land, distant mountains, no any human being there. Superposed and overlapped multipeaked mountains and rushing rivers, all of them are in a silent position. All visible substances abide by the quiet law in this current world, and even if a tiny bit of wind blowing will destroy its perpetual beauty and splendor. Everything on earth consist of quiet and refreshing factors, and except this, the whole world doesn't allow other factors to exist. The sun loses here its temperature. Although very red, it is cool, and its existence is only for the purpose of ornament. Here its temperature is not needed, even the brightness has nothing to do with it. Herein, this is such an awe-inspiring, quiet and serene world, that looks like arranged specially for those souls that require to be consoled. Souls, coming here and not hoping to expose their body figures, intent to quietly appreciate the recuperation that the silent and secure world brings to "them" for their heart wounded on the earth. Therefore, land, mountains and waters here are crowded of souls, that you can't see but you can feel the nimbus everywhere in the mystery.

I looked and appreciated his paintings once and again, and came to myself after a long while from this illusionary world. I don't know how Mr. Lei succeeded in painting this world that nobody has set food in since the ancient times. It may exist on the inverse of the world visible to our naked eyes, but it doesn't mean the so-called inferno. Souls coming to this world should be virtuous, otherwise it will not be so quiet, elegant and charming. Is it possible then that Mr. Lei himself comes from this world? If he has not in his preexistence realized this world's scenes, and remembered all the trails in his subconsciousness, then, how could he conceive of such a marvelous world? Furthermore, it is said that Mr. Lei loved painting from his childhood. Maybe this subject for him was as easy as winking, he then turned away to study English. He graduated from Western Languages Dept., Beijing University, and teaches now English at Central Academy of Fine Arts. He took up paint brushes and self-learnt painting. His painting materials are also quite fantastic: Chinese traditional rice paper + oil paints. And with the method of Chinese and western combination, he achieved this wonderful success: oil painting on rice paper.

In most cases, art is a spiritual product created by people's thinking and sentiments. The creation process is one of spiritual projection by the artist on the creation object. Especially for painting, the value of all the art works rests with the content of a painter's spiritual projection, namely the painter's spiritual "dissolution" extent when painting. This spiritual dissolution is generally intituled as "Zen". If a painter's Zen realm arrives to a fine cultivation, he will forget both the world and himself when painting, and only at this time will his art works often be crackajack. Therefore, it is completely two things between master's painting and limner's painting, the former is spiritual embodiment of Zen while the latter is only mechanical trace of an object.

Mr. Lei's painting is the spiritual product in Zen realm. Perhaps he himself doesn't realize this point, that people can get to know from the oddity of his painting and titles. Before starting to paint he doesn't have a title, and for the "Inaction"work under unconscious status, how to intitule it? His method is quite bizarre, as he uses figure number, that is the date when burgeoning creation and starting his painting work, for example, "95-5-26" and "95-6-24" etc. Sometimes a certain sentence or an idea comes to his brain, and he will take a note for painting title. At times he even used a certain sentence when talking with friends or a certain phrase happened to hear from the radio. So, his titles are often independent of the painting content. In case somebody hopes to judge the painting content by titles, he will be at a loss, not knowing whether to laugh or cry. For example, in "Sea of Misery?" (950621) you don't find the sea; in "Too Miserable Fate" (950510) you see only mountain ridges below the sun; in "My Big Fish" (900506) fish are flying in the sky, while stars, the moon and bow-arrow occupy the whole painting. In addition, "The Worst Known, and the Heart will be Calm" (950921), "So Many Years Sleeping Alone" (950601) etc will also let you sink in the confused clouds. However, this will not debase the painting value, as in the nature there is no name and title at the beginning, and that can only be realized in Zen realm.

If to surpass name and title is an obvious feature in Mr. Lei Liang's painting, to surpass visual experience will then be another obvious feature in his painting expression method. You can't define simply his painting as "realistic" or "abstract". Looking from the abstract side, he uses realistic method; while looking from realistic side, your vision will not approve it since the chain of fluctuant mountains and outstretching road are not in the space and perspective relation conforming with our experience. But you can't say there is no perspective; without it, how can we feel on the painting a broad and distant view? To sum up, it conforms with perspective but it surpass our 3D vision experience. This surpass sometimes allows us to look at his paintings upside down. Magic emerges once you accidentally look upside down at a painting showing valleys and rivers. The lofty valleys are turned into broad plain, and the flushing torrents into beautiful sky. Apparently the painting hue is also changed totally. Former gloomy valleys and muddy yellow waters are suddenly changed into dark and boundless heaven and earth. The V-form emerging from the former valley is changed into a big road running out to the distant sky. From former gloomy, oppressed and asphyxial scene is suddenly changed into a vast and extensive world full of poetry and free thought. Most of his paintings are provided with this "magic change" function, an undesigned effect.

Since Mr. Lei's painting is naturally achieved in Zen realm, it will inevitably surpass name and title, as well as ordinary visual experience, and inevitably possess multi-informational connotation. Different people, in front of his painting, fetch respectively what they need and obtain different feelings. Therefore, his painting is at the same time realistic and unrealistic, abstract and non-abstract. As the painter's subjective spirit corresponds with the natural rhythm, the other side of nature, exhibited before us through his wonderful hand, refreshes our vision and thought.

Li Yuan, October 1996

==
Author Introduction: Li Yuan, master degree post-graduate at the Religion Institute of China Social Sciences Academy, Buddhist scholar. Published many Buddhist works and articles.
Publication: China Art Daily, Oct. 3, 1997
English Translation: Lei Liang

 

Chinese Artist Workshop provides the following services:
Subjects: landscape, mountain-water, peony, flower, flore, floral, portrait, figure, female nude, stairs, houses, building, still life, abstract styles.
Styles: classical, traditional, modern, contemporary, realistic, romantic, impressionist, expressionist, abstract, surrealistic, dreamscape, culture.
Professionals/experts: oil painters, wash and ink artist, decorators, designers, dealers, agents, collectors, collection, collectible, auction houses.
Decoration: fine arts and crafts, house plans, home deco/improvement, apartment planning advisor, interior decorating, hall, bedroom, sitting room, dinning room, living room, corridor, wall hangings, environment, offices, hotels, restaurants, corporate spaces, acrylic, architecture.
Lei Liang Chinese Oil Painting Studio
Copyright © 2008 All rights reserved, Beijing (Peking), China. www.LeiLiang.com

当代写意山水风景油画美术作品 现代工笔牡丹花卉油画艺术作品 传统表现人物肖像油画美术作品 写实印象楼梯建筑油画艺术作品 古典抽象静物抽象油画美术作品
山水风景油画 牡丹花卉油画 人物肖像油画 楼梯建筑油画 静物抽象油画

来自另一个世界的画--观雷亮先生宣纸油画

李源

据说,我们肉眼所见的世界只是自然律呈现的一个面。那么,自然律是否还存在另一个面,即不为我们肉眼所觉的另一个世界呢?然而,当我走进雷亮先生的画室,这个千百年来只存在于宗教神学和哲学讨论中的世界,却霍然在我眼前展现了。我被一幅幅画面展现出的世界所震慑,画面似乎有一股魔力,它拽住我的思维,凝固我现世的知觉,引着我步入一个冥冥之中的世界......

这是一个古老、苍凉和充满神秘的世界。广袤的大地,弘远的山川,不见一个人影;群峦叠嶂,大河奔泻,尽在无声之中。一切能见之物,似乎都在遵守此间世界的沉静法律,哪怕有一丝声响,就破坏了它永恒的美妙。万物是由安静、清凉的元素构成、整个世界除此之外,不许有别的元素存在。太阳在这里失去了温度,尽管它很红,但是凉的,它的存在只是为了点缀,这里不需要它的温度,甚至光明都与它无关。这个世界就是如此的森然、清静与安宁。它似乎是专为那些需要安慰的灵魂准备的。灵魂来到这里都不愿显露自己的身形,为的是默默地独享这寂静而安全的世界给“他”们在尘世创伤的心灵带来的弥补。所以,这里的大地山川充满了灵魂,却一个也看不见,你只能从神秘中感觉到灵气扑鼻。

我欣赏着,欣赏着,好一阵才从这梦幻的世界回过神来。我不知道雷先生是怎样画出这自古以来不曾有人涉足的世界的。它也许存在于我们肉眼所见世界的背面,但并不等于所谓的阴间地府。来到这个世界的灵魂必定是善良的,否则,这里不会那么清宁、优美和令人神往。莫非雷先生本人就来自这个世界?若不是前世领略过这个世界的风光,在他潜意识中留有记忆的痕迹,不然,谁又能想象出这样的世界呢?而且,据说雷先生自幼酷爱画画,也许这一天才是他稳操的“囊中之物”可以任之大吉,于是,他又去攻外语。他毕业于北京大学西语系,现在美术学院教英语。他无师自通地拿起了画笔。作画的材料也非常怪诞......宣纸+油画颜料,于是,做出了这绝顶的中西合壁的成就......宣纸油画。

大凡艺术,总是人在思想感情的驱使下做出的精神产品。创作过程是艺术家在其创作对象上进行精神投射的过程。尤其是绘画,作品的价值全在于画家精神投射的含量,即画家作画时精神在画中的“溶入”程度。这种精神溶入,-般称为“禅”。禅境深时,画家虽在作画,但已物我两忘。这时画出的作品往往是上乘佳作。所以大师的画与画匠的画截然是两回事,大师的画多是禅境中的精神体现,画匠的画只是对对象的机械描摹。

雷先生的画是禅境下的精神产品,这点,也许他本人并不知道。一般人可以从他的画面与标题的奇特得知。他的画开始都没有标题,这些无意识状态中的“无为”之作,叫人怎样给它们安名呢?他的方法非常怪诞。他用数字号码来表示,这些数字号码就是他萌发意念、动笔作画的日期,如《95-5-26》、《95-6-24》等。有时头脑中突然蹦出的一句话或一个什么念头,他马上记下来作为画的名称;有时甚至是与人交谈的内容,收音机中的某句话碰巧听清了,他都用上了它们。所以,他的标题与画面往往是无关的。倘若谁要从他的标题去判断画的内容,只能被弄得啼笑皆非。如《苦海无边》你看不到海洋,《命太苦了》你看到的是夕阳下的山岭,《我的大鱼》上面鱼在天空中飞翔,星星、月亮、弓箭等充斥着画面。另如《把最坏的结果看清楚心就平静了》、《孤宿独眠这些年》等等,都会令你如堕五里之云。但这并不影响其画作的价值,因为自然原本是没有名相的,这只有在禅境中才能体梧到。

如果说超越名相是雷亮先生画作内涵的一大特色,那么超越视觉经验是其画作表现手法的又一大特色。他的画,你无法归类为“写实”或者“抽象”。说是抽象的,他用的是写实手法;说是写实的,视觉不会赞同,因为那叠起伏的山峦以及向远方延伸的路,都不是我们经验中的层次与透视关系。但又不能说没有透视,不然,我们的眼睛怎能感觉出画面的开阔与深远?总之,它符合透视,但又超越了我们三维世界的视觉经验。这种超越,使他的画有时可以倒过来看。当你无意中将一幅表现山谷与河流的画倒过来看时,神奇便出现了。那崇峻的山谷变成了开阔的平原,那奔涌的河流变成了美丽的天空。画面的色调似乎也全变了,原来阴沉的山谷和浑黄的河水,忽然间变成了暮色中的苍茫天地。浑浊涌动的河水成了黄昏中飞舞绚丽的云霞;原来山谷间露出的“V”形苍穹变为伸向遥远天际的大道。画面由原来阴沉和压抑得的有些令人窒息的小景一下变成了天高地阔充满诗意和畅想的广旷世界。他的画多数具有这种“神变”功能,是无意中的效果。

由于雷先生的画是禅境中的自然天成,就必然超越名相、超越寻常的视觉经验,也必然具有多元的信息蕴含。不同的人站在他的画前都能各取所需获得不同的感受。所以,他的画是既写实又非写实,既抽象又非抽象的。这是画家的主体精神契合了自然的律动,自然的另一面便通过他的妙手流泄而出,展现在我们面前,使我们的视觉与思维为之一新。

李源
一九九六年十月

==
作者简介:李源,社科院宗教研究所硕士学位研究生,佛学家,出版、发表过多种佛学论著和文章。
发表:《艺术报》,1997-10-3

中国本土主义画派艺术:山水风景牡丹花卉油画、人物肖像楼梯建筑静物抽象油画图片
现当代美术批评艺术欣赏、艺术新闻、本土化画派艺术家  雷亮艺术网 www.LeiLiang.com